Stuff I’ve not had a chance to blog about:

1.  White and Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies

Cookies are a breeze to make and bake. Throw in a few basic ingredients, mix, freeze dough and bake whenever ur sweet tooth calls for one.  These chip cookies are meant to be dropped onto baking sheets by rounded teaspoon.

Since out tropical Mauritian climate causes them to melt well before they are ready to bake, I always freeze small balls of dough instead. Place balls approx 2” apart on lined cookie sheets. They will spread to form nice even shaped cookies [no burnt edges!].

Adapted from Hershey’s Classic Milk Chocolate Chip Cookies

 

2. Vanishing Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

 Along with Chocolate Chip Cookies I experimented with Recipecurio’s vintage version of Oatmeal Cookies. I halved the recipe and added ½ tsp of almond essence and omitted cinnamon for 1 tsp of allspice. Oatmeal cookies keep their shape but you can always freeze excess dough for later use. Keeps well in a ziplock bag for at least 4weeks. That’s how long it took me to use all of it 🙂

From Recipecurio – Charming Vintage Recipes

 

3. Vegan Orange Muffins

Visting relatives never failed to bring oranges for my father after his second TKR. Why oranges? “Zot [relatives] penser ena bocou Vitamin C ladan alor pou bien pli vite ek sa” my brother explained. Whatever the reason I had to find some way of getting rid of the mountain of citrus in my fruit bowl. 

There must be no sweeter way than to convert them into orange muffins. I espcially love this recipe because (1) I always have the ingredients at hand (2) I get to use 3-4 oranges per batch (3) I use rind and juice from all 3 oranges so nothing goes waste (4) the muffins are light and not overly sweet (4) they are vegan so I can share them with just about anyone!

From Pure Enjoyment 

 

4. Banana Peanut Butter Bread

I was looking for banana bread with a twist and The Repressed Pastry Chef had the perfect recipe. Banana and Peanut Butter combi. Yum! I did not add the chips to the batter as I did not have any. To compensate I used an extra tbs of Tropic Smooth Peanut Butter. I’m glad to note that the PB did not overpower the banana flavour; you could actually taste both in a single bite. Of course, it would not have been quite right without a generous drizzle of milk chocolate. Tastes best after a few days acc to me.

From The Repressed Pastry Chef

 

5. Mango & Papaya Muffins

I had to fulfill this muffin request within a short delay so I used this tried and tested recipe. I wrote it down from Women’s Weekly Cookbooks a long time back. It is originally a lemon and poppy seed muffin recipe but it works fine with any other substitution I’ve tried so far. After folding in the batter I threw in a handful of Gitto’s Mango & Papaya Dried Fruits and it was ready in less than 30 mins. Do give it a try, you’ll be happy you did.

Ingredients:

125g butter, softened

2/3 cup (150g) caster sugar

2 eggs

2 cups (300g) self raising flour

1/2 cup (125 ml) yoghurt

1/2 cup Gitto’s Dried Fruit

1 tsp vanilla extract

 Method:

  • Preheat oven to 350F (175C).
  • Grease 12-cup muffin pan or line with paper cups.
  • Cream butter and sugar till light and fluffy.
  • Add eggs, one at a time. Add vanilla extract. Beat well.
  • Add flour a little at a time, alternating with yoghurt.
  • Fold in till just combined.
  • Spoon mixture into prepared pan. Bake for 20 minutes.
  • Skewer inserted in centre should come out clean.
  • Cool on wire rack. Frost if desired.

 

6. Cinnamon Rolls

Yeast breads get me a wee bit nervous. I’ve had quite a few disasters with them in the past so I’m very tempted to put down a recipe the minute I find YEAST in the ingredients list.

It was hard not to fall in love with the fluffy buns on Once Upon a Cakestand’s blog. I finally convinced myself to fight my yeast phobia and give it a try. Well my buns were not picture perfect like hers but at least they puffed up and looked like buns to me. As I’m not a Daring Bakers member [yet!] I allowed myself to add some Mart’s Rich Fruit Mix to the cinnamon filling. Did not bother with the glaze.  Will make again!

From Once Upon a Cakestand – Daring Bakers Challenge

 

7. Hummingbird Cake

I bought canned pineapples with the idea of making yet another upside down cake for a family afternoon tea. I wanted something different so I came up with this. Used toasted sesame seeds as I ran out of coconut. Btw I love the name as much as the cake itself.

Some say this Southern layer cake earned its name because each otherworldly bite makes you hum with delight. Another theory is that it’s as sweet as the sugared water used to attract its hovering namesake.

From Everyday Easy Recipes – Taste.com.au

 

8. Carrot Poppyseed Muffins

Quick breakfast muffins. I found the taste somewhat bland though. Maybe something to do with the carrots I used  :S Would definitely add some extra spice if I make this again. And yea, read the reviews. They advise against using a full cup of oil.  I reduced it to 100ml. 

From Everyday Easy Recipes – Taste.com.au

 

9. Apple Crumble Cake

Soft and moist cake to make for a crowd. It fitted nicely in my 12″ round cake pan. I used fresh Granny Smith apples rather than canned ones. More cost effective and definitely superior taste wise. I baked the cake for a good 1 1/2 hours at a slightly lower oven temperature to ensure even cooking. You need to understand ur own oven settings before making any adjustments.  It may take a while to put this cake together so I recommend making the crumble topping in advance.  Should work with other fruits as well. 

From Everyday Easy Recipes – Taste.com.au

 

10. Mango & Sago in Coconut Milk

Heavenly summer dessert –  Refreshing combination of alphonso mangoes and coconut milk suspended  in pearl sago pudding. You can indulge in a single large serving or make enough for a family treat. I cannot rate this highly enough.

From The Cooking Adventures of Chef Paz

More to come…

