Baking was not on my to-do list today. I went to bed late expecting to get up later than usual and spend the day lazing around with my new book. It’s a paperback I picked up from a Friends in Hope book sale. The NGO holds a regular charity sale at Phoenix Les Halles and has a wide range of books at interesting prices. I got an old edition of What to Expect – The First Year for only Rs75! Why don’t you check if they have smthing for you?

Well I never got to start on the book. Not until well past breakfast. On waking up I was greeted by a large bowl of lumpy batter sitting on my kitchen counter. Seems that smone did not get his/her pancake mixture quite right. I was asked by the rest of the family if I could somehow rescue the remaining batter. Terribly hard task given I had no clue what was already present in the mixture.

The end result of the original ‘pancake’ mixture was so disastrous that I was not allowed to post it here :S Just to give you an idea, the first few attempts had the apparently ok-looking batter stuck fast to the hot HEAVILY GREASED NON STICK girdle. I decided not to waste what was left of it and ruled out the idea of proceeding further with pancakes.

I wondered if I could smhow convert them into muffins. Banana muffins are a favourite of mine especially at breakfast. I love them with a moist crumb and a faint hint of cinnamon. I could not see how I could whip up the soupy mixture into nice, fluffy muffins. Or nice, fluffy anything :S

At last I mashed in a left-over banana, mixed in an extra 1/2 cup of SR Flour and 2 tbs yoghurt + 1 tbs golden syrup to get a good dropping consistency. This I spooned into a muffin pan lined with foil cups. I added a sprinkling of sesame seeds on top and popped them in the oven to bake at 1500C.

This is how they turned out after being baked for 1/2 hour. Not bad eh? I really like the mushroom look.  They were something of a cross between a floury scone and a quick bread. More like a soft chewy bun. Guess they can be improved with a raspberry or apricot jam filling. Or simply a dash of PB!

This is the story of how breakfast pancakes ended up as mini buns for afternoon tea on a rainy Monday 😉 

Btw I wish to congratulate all those who passed their Higher School Certificate Exam. You can go through the list of laureates on IslandCrisis.net. Watch out for the detailed list in tomorrow’s papers.
