I wanted a plain coffee cake for tea. It reminded me of the simple recipe I had bookmarked from La vie est belle earlier this week. Well, mine did not turn out light and fluffy as in her lovely pics. 

Still it was dense and moist with the nice rich taste of condensed milk she mentions in her post. Not overly sweet as I would expect for a cake using sweetened condensed milk as the prime ingredient. I recommend this with a glass of Nescafe frappé.

CONDENSED MILK CAKE

 

Ingredients:

4 eggs, at room temperature

1 cup all purpose flour

½ tbs baking powder

50g unsalted butter, melted and cooled

1 can (395g) sweetened condensed milk

2 tbs unprocessed cocoa + 2 tbs hot water

Icing sugar, for dusting

Method:

  • Preheat the oven to 180ºC/350ºF.
  • Grease and line a 9″ cake pan with parchment paper.
  • Place butter, condensed milk and eggs in a large bowl.
  • Whisk till butter gets incorporated for 1 minute.
  • Sift over flour and baking powder. Fold in carefully with a metal spoon. Batter will be quite runny.
  • In a small bowl, dissolve cocoa in hot water and add 1/3 of cake batter to this. Mix well till cocoa is well combined.
  • Pour batter into pan alternating between the chocolate and white cake mixture to give a marble effect.
  • Bake for 45 minutes until a skewer inserted into centre of cake comes out clean. My cake did not rise too much.
  • Cool completely on wire rack before serving. You can dust the cake with icing sugar if you wish.

 As you can notice from the recipe, I tried to marble the cake but the colours diffused into each other and I failed to achieve the desired look 😦 Hmm I’ll try again but for now lemme enjoy my piece of cake.

Oh wait! I’ll share the iced coffee/frappé recipe before I leave [If you dnt buy Nescafe this should give you a good excuse to do so].

NESCAFE CLASSIC FRAPPE

Ingredients:

2 tsp Nescafe Classic

2 tsp sugar [white or brown]

3 blocks of ice

50 ml cold water

100 ml cold milk

Method:

  • Put coffee, sugar and 1 block of ice in a shaker.
  • Gently close shaker and shake until the sugar dissolves.
  • Pour this foam into a tall glass [250ml] over more ice.
  • Add the milk. Stir and serve with a straw.

There are other coffee recipes on the Nescafe website that can be of interest to you. Now you won’t have to skip your usual dose of caffeine on a stifling hot summer day 🙂

