I graduated from SSRMC/UOM yesterday. The brief solemn ceremony, held at Octave Wiehe Auditorium, Réduit, saw the conferement of degrees for the faculties of agriculture, engineering, science, medicine and dentistry.

Some 60 students were ‘deemed worthy’ to be awarded the degree of MBBS after 5 long years of studies and clinical exposure. The focal point of our convocation was wearing the gown and cap and reading of the Oath [right hand raised], a simplified version of the Hippocatic Oath.

Oath by MBBS Graduates

As a graduate of the University of Mauritius, I do solemnly vow, to that which I value and hold dear:

I solemnly pledge to consecreate my life to the service of humanity;

I will give to my teachers the respect and gratitude that is their due;

I will practise my profession with conscience and dignity;

The health of my patients will be my first consideration;

I will respect the secrets that are confided in me, even after the patient has died;

I will maintain by all means in my power, th honour and the noble traditions of the medical profession;

My colleagues will be my brothers and sisters;

I will not permit considerations of age, disease or disability, creed, ethnic origin, gender, nationality, political affiliation, race, sexual orientation, social standing or any other factor to intervene between my duty and my patient;

I will maintain the utmost respect for human life;

I will not use my medical knowledge to violate human rights and civil liberties, even under threat;

I make these promises solemnly, freely and upon my honour.

Back home I decided to celebrate by baking one of my favourite goodies – lemon bars. I came across lemon in baking some years ago and instantly feel in love with it.

Before that I mostly regarded the fruit as being part of homemade cures for colds and sore throats. My mum would always make a ‘magic potion’ out of betel leaves, basil leaves, lemon juice and honey that would inevitably put a stop to running noses and uncontrollable coughs.

Lemon is the perfect summer flavour. It gives a fresh fruity tone to cakes and desserts without making them dense or overly sweet. Its versatility makes it a choice ingredient in pies, muffins, souffles, sorbets, cookies, and many more.

My original plan for making lemon bars never materialised when I saw that the pile of bright yellow lemons I bought the day before had suddenly dwindled to a single fruit overnight 😦 I was in no mood to look for more and settled for a simple lemon cake making up for the lack of lemons with oranges.

LEMON & ORANGE CAKE

Ingredients:

1 1/3 cup self raising flour

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

3/4 cup caster sugar

1 large lemon

1 medium orange

1/2 cup vegetable oil

1/2 cup plain yogurt

4 eggs

 

Method:

  • Preheat oven to 350oF. Grease and line a 9″ circular baking pan with greaseproof paper.
  • Peel lemon and orange to remove a thin layer of rind from each. Cut rinds into pieces and finely grind in a mixer.
  • Cut fruits into halves and extract as much juice as possible. You will get roughly 4-5 tbs of  juice.
  • In a large bowl, lightly whisk eggs. Add yogurt, oil and freshly pressed citrus juice. Whisk till well combined.
  • Sift flour with baking powder and baking soda in another large bowl. Stir in sugar till evenly distributed.

  • Pour egg mixture into flour. Fold in till combined. Do not overmix. Stir in lemon and orange rinds.
  • Batter will be thin. Pour immediately into prepared pan.
  • Bake for 45-60 minutes till centre springs back to touch.
  • Remove from oven and cool completely on wire rack.
  • You can drizzle warm cake with lemon syrup for an extra twang if you wish.

Not a lemon fan? Try this and I bet you’ll be a convert. I should add that a tbs of poppyseeds nicely complements the citrus flavour.

