We finally had a rainy day after weeks of scorching sun. I hope this does not sound too crazy but I love to stick my neck out of the window and listen to the sound to raindrops outside. It makes me feel strangely peaceful.

I was in a mood to bake but did not have a definite recipe in mind. After assessing what I had on hand I came up with this eggless version of  black forest cake. The German Schwarzwälder Kirschtorte has always fascinated me with its layers of moist chocolate cake and heavenly combination of heavy whipped cream and maraschino cherries.

A large cake was not what I was looking for so I improvised by distributing the batter among large muffin cups.  I’ll be saving them for the weekend since I can always expect some relative or family friend to pop over for lunch or dinner. 🙂

BLACK FOREST CUPCAKES


Ingredients:

100g good quality dark chocolate

1 1/2 cup all purpose flour

1/2 cup caster sugar

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1 cup water

1/3 cup vegetable oil

1 tbs white vinegar

1 tsp vanilla extract

For Icing

1 1/2 cup whipped cream

100g good quality dark chocolate

12 tsp candied cherries, chopped

12 whole fresh or candied cherries

6 tsp kirsch or cherry liqueur

 

Method:

  • Pour whipping cream in a large bowl. Chill the bowl and whisk attachment for abt 1/2 hour while you prepare the cupcakes.
  • Preheat oven to 350 oF. Line a 12-hole muffin pan with paper cups.
  • Break chocolate into pieces and place in a microwave safe bowl.
  • Heat on high for about 2 minutes until chocolate melts. Cool slightly.

 

  • Sift flour, baking soda and salt in a large bowl. Stir in sugar.
  • Add half of the melted chocolate, water, oil, vinegar and vanilla to flour mixture. Beat until all ingredients are well blended.
  • Pour into muffin cups so that they are filled halfway.

 

[Recipe for cupcakes adapted from Hershey’s Easy Chocolate Layer Cake]

  • Bake for 18-20 minutes until they spring back when touched.
  • Remove from oven and cool in pan for 10 minutes.
  • Turn out on wire rack and cool completely.

 

  • Take whipping cream out of fridge and beat till stiff peaks form.
  • Reserve at least 1/2 cup cream in a clean bowl.
  • Combine the remaining cream with the leftover melted chocolate.
  • Drizzle cupcakes with a little kirsch. Spread a thin layer of chocolate cream on cupcakes and scatter chopped cherries on top.

  • Spoon chocolate cream into a large pastry bag with a large star shaped nozzle. Pipe swirls onto cupcakes [This needs some practice!] 
  • Similarly fill a smaller bag with plain cream and make a smaller swirl on the chocolate cream. Top with a fresh/candied cherry.
  • You may wish to dust with some sweetened cocoa powder or add chocolate shavings for a special finish.
  • Makes 12 large black forest cupcakes.

I’d like to dedicate this post to my dear friend Pirate, wishing him a very Happy Birthday. I know he’d love those Black Forest Cupcakes 🙂

