I love quiche. I cannot resist the way it combines a melt-in-the-mouth buttery crust and a creamy rich filling. It’s one of those things I can eat every day of the week and not grow tired of it. It is also one of the few things I do not need a recipe for. 

Wikipedia says that quiche was originally designed as a breakfast food. I find that I tend to make it more towards lunch time and I think you would agree that it makes the most amazing entree for brunch. Keep a small batch of shortcrust pastry in your freezer; it does come in handy if you suddenly decide on tart as entree[savoury] or dessert [sweet] for a special meal.

This may not be the exact recipe for quiche if you are looking for something genuine. I played around with the proportions of an old recipe until I found one that did not cause the filling to overflow from the tart pan during baking. Bake a large quiche for family picnics and informal gatherings or smaller ones that will look elegant on a party table and wow your guests.

QUICHE – MY VERSION

 

Ingredients:

100g unsalted butter

1 cup all purpose flour

2 eggs, room temperature

1/3 cup mayonnaise

1/4 cup milk

1/8 tsp pepper

1/8 tsp salt

1/2 cup cooked chicken, shredded

1/2 cup spinach, chopped

1 large red onion diced

2 medium tomatoes, diced

1 small green pepper, chopped

1 bunch coriander, chopped

1/2 cup cheddar cheese, grated

 

Method:

  • Sift flour in a large bowl. Gradually rub in butter to form a soft pliable dough. Handle it as little as possible.
  • Press dough into a 9-inch tart pan with removable bottom.

 

  • Prick dough all over with a fork before you leave it to chill in the fridge for about 30 minutes. You may make the tart shell in advance and freeze it at this point.

 

  • Next prepare filling by beating together eggs, milk, salt, mayonnaise and pepper in a large jug until well blended.
  • In a bowl, combine chicken, spinach and half of the grated cheese. If I’m in a hurry I replace chicken with canned tuna [as you’ll find on the pics] or lightly sauteed mushrooms.

 

  • Take out tart shell from fridge and bake at 200 oF for about 20 mins. If frozen bring to room temperature before baking.
  • Sprinkle 2-3 tbs grated cheese over warm tart crust.

 

  • Spoon chicken filling into shell and pour mayonnaise mixture over until it is just slightly level with rim of tart pan.
  • Sprinkle with more cheese and a dash of pepper.
  • I added some decorative shapes which I cut out from dough left over in the initial steps. I make my crust kinda thin.

 

  • Bake quiche at 350 oF for 1 hour until filling is set and top is golden brown. Remove from oven and cool for 10 minutes.
  • Remove from pan and serve warm. Makes 8 regular pieces.
