Today’s blog entry is about how I successfully managed to turn my unused boxes of cereal into a couple of fun baking projects. I’m not a big fan of breakfast cereals; I end up buying them after somehow convincing myself of their healthy, energy-rich properties or by giving in to their occasional discounted prices.

Once I’m halfway through a particular box I usually tend to dump it for another. This results in two or more cereal boxes making a mess on my kitchen counter. Cereal based muffins are a good way of disposing of your unwanted breakfast foods without throwing them away. They have the double advantage of being healthy options for snacking + they make my boring food blog look good!

ALPEN MUFFINS

1 1/2 cups wholewheat flour

1 cup alpen original cereal

1/2 cup lightly packed brown sugar

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1 cup mashed bananas

2 eggs, room temperature

1 cup unsweetened yogurt

1/4 cup butter, melted

1/2 cup raisins, soaked

Method:

  • Preheat oven to 350 oF. Line muffin pan with paper cups.
  • Whisk flour together with alpen original cereal, sugar, baking powder and baking soda in a large bowl.
  • In another bowl, combine eggs, yogurt, butter and bananas until well blended. Add this mixture to dry ingredients.
  • Stir until just combined. Do not over mix. Add raisins.
  • Spoon batter into muffin pan and bake for 25-30 minutes.
  • Cool to room temperature on a wire rack before serving.

The last of my neglected Rice Krispies got converted into this immensely popular american candy. Rice Krispie treats were born when Mildred Day and the staff at the Kellogg Company Home Economics Department decided to combine the puffed rice cereal with melted butter and marshmallows. 

They make a perfect last-minute party favours at a kids’ party. I used pink and white marshmallows because they were the only ones I could find at my local store. I’m glad I did though as this particular colour combi was what made the lil girls [for whom I made the treats] squeal with delight 🙂

RICE KRISPIES BARS

  

Ingredients:

3 tbs butter or margarine, at room temperature

40 regular marshmallows or 4 cups mini marshmallows

6 cups Rice Krispies cereal, lightly toasted

 

Method:

  • In large saucepan melt butter over low heat.
  • Add marshmallows and stir until completely melted.
  • If using the microwave, heat butter and marshmallows on HIGH for 3 minutes, stirring after 2 minutes. 
  • Remove from heat. Add Rice Krispies, stir until well coated.

 

  • Using wax paper evenly press mixture into 9″ x 9″ baking pan lined with foil and coated with cooking spray.
  • Cool and cut into 2″ squares. Best if served the same day. 
  • For best results, use fresh marshmallows. Marshmallow crème can be substituted for marshmallows.
  • Diet, reduced calorie or tub margarine is not recommended.

 

  • To freeze, place in layers separated by wax paper in airtight container. Freeze for up to 6 weeks
  • Stand at room temperature for 15 mins before serving.
  • Store for no more than 2 days at room temperature in airtight container.
