Happy belated Bundt Day!

I had no idea that there was such a thing as a National Bundt Day until I read about it on The Food Librarian‘s blog. I also had never owned a proper Bundt pan until a couple of weeks back when I bought one at Shoprite. The minute I set my eyes on this beautiful 6-cup capacity fluted pan, I knew I had to get it. 

Nationa Bundt Day provided me the perfect opportunity to do a test run of my new bakeware and it did not disappoint. Not a crumb got stuck to the pan; I was afraid it would but then I had carefully brushed the sides with melted butter and floured my pan before pouring the cake batter in.

My first Bundt cake was an easy, unpretentious cake with all the sweetness of overripe bananas with a hint of toasted almonds and random chunks of bitter chocolate. Taken from EzraPoundCake which is an adaption of the original featured in Dorie Greenspan’s Baking: From My Home to Yours this, I believe, is gonna be a regular both at home and at work.

CLASSIC BANANA BUNDT CAKE

  

Ingredients:

3 cups all-purpose flour

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder 

200g  unsalted butter, room temperature

3/4 cup granulated white sugar

1/2 cup light muscovado sugar 

1 tbs dark muscovado sugar

2 tsp pure vanilla extract

2 large eggs, at room temperature

4 very ripe bananas, mashed (1 1/2 – 1 3/4 cups)

1 cup sour cream or plain yogurt

1/4 cup almond meal, lightly toasted

100g dark chocolate, chopped

Method:

  • Preheat the oven to 350 oF and generously butter and flour a 9 – 10″ Bundt pan. Invert and shake off excess flour.
  • In a large bowl, whisk flour, baking soda and salt together.
  • Working with a stand mixer fitted with a paddle attachment, beat the butter until creamy.

 

  • Add sugar and beat at medium speed until pale and fluffy.
  • Beat in the vanilla, then add the eggs one at a time.
  • Reduce the mixer speed to low, and mix in the bananas.
  • Mix in half the dry ingredients. Don’t be disturbed when the batter curdles. Add sour cream and rest of the flour mixture.

 

  • Finally stir in almond meal and bits of chocolate before scraping the batter into the pan. Rap the pan on the counter to debubble the batter and smooth the top with a spatula.
  • Bake for 65 to 75 minutes, or until a thin knife inserted deep into the center of the cake comes out clean.  

 

  • If browning too quickly, cover loosely with a foil tent.
  • Transfer cake to a rack and cool for 10 minutes before unmolding onto the rack to cool to room temperature.
  • Serve with a light dusting of icing sugar or thick chocolate ganache if you want to make it really decadent.

Some Bundt Related Posts:

