My Dearest Cookie

It’s been such a pleasure to be working in the same unit for the past one month. While our time together has been short, I’ve been privileged enough to have you as my mentor when it came to reading ECGs, interpreting echo findings and tuning my ears to detect the softest of murmurs in A&E.

Learning has been so much fun with you around to keep us on our toes and think/act fast in the face of emergencies. Staying up till late was never a problem if we both happened to be on call. Stories of the interesting cases we’d encountered kept us entertained as we awaited patients in A&E or occasional tranfers from Flacq.

I never imagined that you’d turn out to be a cookie person until you told me yourself. It must have been ages since I last had a cookie request but I was more than happy to reach for my old tattered copy of  Hershey’s cookies. I first tried this particular recipe in high school and it’s been my standard chocolate chip cookie recipe ever since. And yea, it never fails to impress 😉

HERSHEY’ S CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES

 

Ingredients:

1 1/8 cups all-purpose flour

1/4 tsp baking soda

Pinch of salt

100g unsalted butter, softened

3/8 cup granulated sugar

3/8 cup light muscovado sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 egg, room temperature

1 cup chocolate chips

1/2 cup chopped nuts

Method:

  • Heat oven to 375°F. Stir together flour, baking soda and salt.
  • Beat butter, granulated sugar, brown sugar and vanilla in large bowl with mixer until creamy.

  • Add eggs and beat well. Gradually add flour mixture, beating well. Stir in chocolate chips and nuts. 
  • Add 100g chopped dark chocolate instead of chocolate chips or use a combination of dark and white chips.

  • Wrap in cling film and freeze mixture for 15-20 minutes.
  • Drop by rounded teaspoons onto ungreased cookie sheet.

  • Bake 5 to 8 minutes or until lightly browned. Cool slightly; remove from cookie sheet to wire rack. Cool completely.
  • Makes about 30 cookies.

The above recipe is failproof and quite forgiving so I hope that you end up with fairly edible cookies this time 🙂

Surgically yours

PrerrnaMirchi

