Gynae & Obs has kept me well away from my blog and from quite a number of things I need to be happy. Surgeons and surgical wards are now out of bounds for me unless I want to be chucked out of my current unit. Being on call these days sums up to staying up all night to reassesss my pregnant patients or attend to emergencies in wards or A&E. It must be the first unit with which I’ve not had a love at first sight relationship, not even one at second or third sight for that matter.

The stressful environment at Gynae & Obs could be what has cast a shadow on my joie de vivre, creating a sizeable dent in my usual optimism. I hope it’s a change that’d be instantly reversible once I move onto my next unit. I’ve been lucky enough to have had the company of one good friend who’s made all those sleepless night so much more bearable and definitely much more interesting than they would otherwise have been. And to thank him for all the entertaining stories, for the very sweet coffee and for being a constant source of support and comfort, I’d like to dedicate this post, esp the Cherry & Almond Cupcakes, to him.

CHERRY & ALMOND CUPCAKES

 

Ingredients:

2/3 cup butter, softened

2/3 cup caster sugar

1 tsp almond essence

3 eggs, room temperature

2/3 cup red glace cherries, quartered

2/3 cup currants, soaked in warm water

2/3 cup slivered almonds

1 1/2 cup cake flour

1 tsp baking powder

1/3 cup milk

50 g white chocolate

Method:

  • Preheat oven to 350 oF. Line a 12-hole muffin tin with paper or foil liners.
  • Beat butter, sugar and essence in a small bowl with electric mixer until light and fluffy. Beat in eggs, one at a time.
  • Combine cherries, sultanas and nuts in a large bowl; stir in butter mixture, flour & baking powder and milk.
  • Spread mixture into prepared pan. Bake for about 40 minutes. Cool to room temperature on a wire rack.
  • Drizzle cupcakes with melted white chocolate before serving. Makes 12 regular cupcakes.

 

TOBLERONE COOKIES

 

Ingredients:

1/4 cup butter, softened

1/3 cup light soft brown sugar

1 small egg, lightly beaten

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 cup plain flour

1/4 tsp bicarbonate of soda

100g milk Toblerone, roughly chopped

Method:

  • Preheat the oven to 180°C and line two large baking sheets with non-stick baking parchment.
  • Cream butter with sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in the egg and vanilla extract until the mixture is smooth.
  • Then stir in the flour, bicarbonate of soda, salt and Toblerone pieces until uniformly distributed.
  • Drop by heaped tablespoons onto each prepared baking sheet, leaving space between each to allow for spreading.
  • Bake for 10–15 minutes. Leave to cool and firm up on the baking sheet for a few minutes before carefully peeling away paper.
  • The cookies will keep in an airtight tin for up to 3 days. Makes 12 regular sized cookies.
