While I was in Gynae & Obs, I really wished I had more time to bake, take pictures and write up witty introductions for my blog. I longed for the occasional break and would spend every minute of my free time looking for new recipes or trying them out. Five months later, I suddenly find myself in the midst of a posting where I can do more than merely treating patients. My time in pediatrics so far has been very gratifying; the relaxed work environment has made easier for me to learn and discuss. Besides clinical practice, I have found great comfort in feeding my lil babies, changing their nappies and rocking them in my arms till they fall asleep.

Last saturday I baked brownies because it was my weekend on call and because it was warm with lotsa sunshine and a pretty rainbow filtering through my window. This is my go-to brownie recipe; I’ve adapted it from the one I found on the Romany Creams Classic Choc Biscuits box. The rich fudge-like chocolate cake is enough to curb any chocolate craving I might be having and I usually buy Romany Creams only when I feel like baking brownies. If you cant find Romany Creams in your area, I guess you can always give it a try with any of your favourite chocolate flavoured sandwich biscuit and tell me how it turns out.

ROMANY CREAMS BROWNIES

 

Ingredients:

1 cup castor sugar

4 eggs, room temperature

225 g butter, softened

5 tbs all purpose flour

5 tbs cocoa powder

100 g dark/milk chocolate

1/2 cup pecan nuts

200g Romany Creams biscuits

Method:

  • Preheat oven to 180 oC. Grease and line a 20x20cm baking tin.
  • Beat eggs and sugar until creamy. Melt butter, add to eggs and beat well.
  • Sieve cocoa and flour together. Add to the egg mixture and combine.

  • Melt chocolate and lightly fold into mixture. Lastly, add nuts and Romany Creams.
  • Mix well to combine before pouring into prepared pan. Bake for about 40 minutes.
  • Cool in pan for 10 minutes before turning out. Cut into bars or squares. Makes 20.
