I’m already 2 weeks into my orthopedics posting and every minute of it has been blessed with the opportunity of learning something new. Right from medical school, I did not developed the inherent liking for orthopedics and that feeling did not change with my first exposure to the unit. On my debut day, I felt it was a good omen to start the day in OT with a DHS for a 105 year old lady but once I found myself amidst the deafening din of drills and hammers, I was not too sure. I really should thank mon très gentil Sp for rekindling my interest in the subject and also for being such a wonderful teacher.

Taking a break from ortho, I picked this weekend to complete my Daring Bakers October Challenge brought to us by Jenni. Go on, have a look at the lovely collection of recipes on her blog as you await the October challenge to be revealed on the 27th. While most of my day went into baking and taking pictures of my take on Jenni’s lovely recipe, I did manage to put away some minutes for these cute, chocolate drizzled, coconut macaroons to which I added pieces of homemade dulce de leche. Yummy!

COCONUT MACAROONS

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups coconut flakes

1/2 cup condensed milk

2 tbs all purpose flour

1/4 tsp almond extract

1/4 cup dulce de leche pieces

Method:

  • Combine lightly toasted coconut flakes, condensed milk, flour and almond extract in a large mixing bowl.

  • Stir in dulce de leche pieces. Replace dulce de leche with chocolate chips or chopped dried fruit if you wish.

  • Drop spoonfuls of the mixture onto a parchment or foil lined baking sheet, at least one inch apart.

  • Bake at 350 oF for 15 to 20 minutes or until the tops of the macaroons turn golden brown.

  • Drizzle with melted dark chocolate and store in an airtight container for upto 1 week. Makes 8 pieces.
