Whether I get up early or late on a sunday, I invariably find myself thinking how nice it would be to have some fluffy, homemade pancakes for breakfast. I can allow myself to keep thinking about them as I go through the mundane routine of morning chores since the batter do not require much of pre-planning and calls only for the most basic of ingredients.

Pancakes, therefore, are my sunday breakfast treat. As I laddle the thick batter onto my hot tawa, I love to wait for the million of bubbles that erupt on the uncooked surface of my pancakes before flipping them over. In this recipe, I used cream and evaporated milk to get richer, fluffier pancakes which you can very well replace with full cream milk. I do not serve them with butter but always have a small jar of maple syrup by the side for those who want a drizzle of extra sweetness. A dollop of fruit compote provides a healthier option for those who like a touch of colour to start their day.

HOMEMADE PANCAKES

Ingredients:

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 tsp baking powder

2 tbs granulated sugar

1 egg, room temperature

1 tbs butter, melted

1/2 cup evaporated milk

1/4 cup heavy cream

2 tbs cold water

1 tsp vanilla extract

Method:

  • Stift flour and baking powder together and stir in sugar. In a separate bowl, mix all wet ingredients until well combined.

  • Make a hole in the middle of dry ingredients and pour wet ingredients into it. Whisk until combined but do not overmix.

  • Leave the batter  to set for about 15 minutes. Heat a frying pan over medium heat and lightly grease the surface with oil.

  • Pour about 1/4 cup of batter into the pan. Leave it to spread out on its own; batter will be thicker than that for crepes.

  • You may do 2-3 pancakes simultaneously if you are using a large frying pan, or even better, a heavy iron-cast skillet or tawa.

  • Cook on one side for 1-2 minutes until bubbles develop on the surface. You may need to grease the pan after every 2 batches.

  • Flip over and continue cooking for another minute until both sides are golden brown. Serve warm with maple syrup or honey.
