I’m in love! I know I have the bad habit of falling in love too often but it was really impossible for me to resist this one: my mini muffin pan. It opens a whole new world of possibilities for me; I can now transform those sinfully rich cakes into bite-size pieces and feel less guilty when I open my cake tin. For those who would like to get their own pans, they are available at Pick and Pay at Rs225.

For my very mini cupcakes, I chose chocolate and almond. They work well together and provide most of the fat this recipe needs. I think that everyone can safely enjoy this relatively helathy, butter-free muffin taken from Cupcakes, A Fine Selection of Sweet Treats. Go, grab one!

CHOCOLATE ALMOND MINIS

Ingredients:

50 g dark chocolate

1/4 cup whole almonds

1/4 cup all purpose flour

1/8 cup whole wheat flour

2 eggs, separated

1/4 cup caster sugar

1 tbs warm milk

Method:

  • Preheat oven to 350 oF. Grease and flour a 12-hole mini muffin pan or line with paper cases.
  • Break chocolate into small pieces. Place broken chocolate, almonds and flours in a food processor.

  • Grind coarsely for a minute. In a clean bowl, beat egg whites until soft peaks form. Set aside.
  • In a separate bowl, beat egg yolks with sugar until thick and pale. Fold in dry ingredients and milk.

  • Gently fold whipped egg whites into mixture with a metal spoon until just combined.
  • Fill each muffin cup with 1 teaspoon of batter. Bake for 10-12 minutes until tops spring back.

  • It is advisable to check on the minis after 10 minutes to see if they require extra baking time.
  • Cool completely before garnishing with whipped cream and chocolate flakes. Makes 18 minis.

Minis are sooo cute!

