This original recipe was lost amidst the myriad of messages in my inbox for months till I fished it out. The sender, Miss Truptee Bootna, wrote to me encouraging me to make and share this ‘unknown’ poudine which, to my great delight, was both easy and delicious as she rightly promised. It is my sincere attempt to stick to the ingredients and instructions provided; in case you cannot get mine apollo in your part of the world, you might as well replace it with any other noodle brand though I cannot say if you can expect the same result.

Today is my big debut at Apollo Bramwell Hospital, a JCI accredited private health institution, which is an entirely different setup from what I have been exposed to so far. My first day was more of a sight-seeing trip around the multiple departments, getting acquainted with the staff, trying to find my way round the lifts and corridors, getting familiar with the computer system and slowly trying to adapt myself to this strange, new world. Not too bad for a start but please wish me luck for the long road ahead!

POUDINE MINE APOLLO

Ingredients:

1 packet mine apollo

1/2 cup milk

4 tbs caster sugar

3 tbs Nestle dessert cream

2 eggs, room temperature

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1 tbs dessicated coconut

Method:

  • Boil the mine apollo for about 5 minutes in a large saucepan, drain well and keep in saucepan.

  • Add milk and cook for about 7-8 minutes. Add cream, sugar and vanilla and mix well.

  • Remove from heat and leave to cool slightly. Beat eggs lightly and stir into mixture.

  • Cook for 2-3 minutes over low heat. Stir in dessicated coconut and mix well to get a sticky consistency.

  • Pour into a mould and top with flaked almonds. Leave to set in fridge for 6 hours or overnight. Makes 16 pieces.
