Welcome 2013… and here’s my first award nomination of the year! This wonderful start was thanks to the lovely Heather of Bake ‘n Create who selected my blog among the thirteen others as her Baker’s Dozen for the Super Sweet Blogging Award. I do hope that everyone’s new year had an equally sweet beginning and that the remaining 364 days bring lots of happiness, success and good health to all of you. May you be blessed with an abundance of food in your kitchens along with hundreds of new recipes to bake and share.

And while I am at it, I seize this opportunity to do a quick End of Year recap. The Annual WordPress Report sums up Inspired to Bake’s 2nd year as follows: 160,000 views from 176 countries, 65 new posts and 3,439 maxiumum views in a single day. I participated in all Daring Bakers 2012 Challenges except in February [Quick Breads] and wrote a guest post for Moricienneries. Other memorable participations in the past year included the Pink Ribbon Breakfast, the Red Cross Big Cake Bake and the July Monthly Mingle. And lastly, towards the end of 2012, I acquired an ice cream maker, a set of Christmas cookie cutters, a mini muffin pan and a huge pile of cookbooks I have yet to go through.

super-sweet-blogging-award21-w645

Coming back to the Super Sweet blogging award, there are a few simple rules to stick to:

1. Give credit to the person who chose to nominate you,

2. Answer the “Super Sweet” questions, and

3. Nominate a “Baker’s Dozen (13) blogs.

{SUPER SWEET QUESTIONS}

1. Cookies or Cake? Cake all the way! I do like my cookies but I’d always grab a slice of cake over them anytime.

2. Chocolate or Vanilla? Tricky one coz I usually choose them as a duo but if I had to pick one, I’d go for the rich and indulgent chocolate.

3. What is your favorite sweet treat? The most difficult question of the lot. I’d narrow the options and select one from my 2012 bakes: the much requested Tres Leches Cake. Not far behind are the Sticky Date Pudding and my Kitkat Birthday Cake.

4. When do you crave sweet things the most? I usually need a sugar fix post dinner and sometimes in the middle of the night, if I’m still awake, though I would not say no to sweets any time of the day – especially if they happen to be homemade!

5. If you had a sweet nickname, what would it be? Hmm… gato coco!

{MY BAKERS DOZEN}

1. Shelley – C Mom Cook

2. Jenni –  The Gingered Whisk

3. Korena – Korena in the Kitchen

4. Marcellina – Marcellina in Cucina

5. Audax – Audax Artifex

6. Zoë François – Zoe Bakes

7. Renata – Testado Provado & Aprovado

8. Jehanne – The Cooking Doctor

9. Lisa – Homesick Texan

10. Ree – The Pioneer Woman

11. Bourbonnatrix – Bourbonnatrix Bakes

12. Kim – Ask a Foodie

13. Deb – Smitten Kitchen

Happy 2013 everyone! Hope it turns out to be sweeter than 2012!

