The ‘healthy breakfast’ mantra is one I am forever preaching myself and yet I hardly stick to my resolution of eating what’s right for me. These energy-packed bran muffins might make me think again. As rightly described by King Arthur Flour, “There’s something incredibly comforting about a bran muffin. The flavor is wholesome and sturdy; just sweet enough to be a treat, but not so sugary as to induce guilt. For a portable breakfast, they’re hard to beat.” Maybe they are just the thing to prevent me from going into hypo as I skip meals with my oh-so-hectic schedule. Cnt remember when I last had a decent breakfast before this one… I really must try harder to eat healthy!

BRAN MUFFINS

Ingredients:

1/2 cup boiling water

1/2 cup bran cereal [not flakes]

1/3 cup vegetable oil

1 large egg, room temperature

1 1/4 cups all purpose flour

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp table salt

3/4 cup raisins

1 1/4 cups buttermilk

1/4 cup brown sugar

1 1/2 cups bran cereal [not flakes]

2 tbs apricot jam, for glazing

Method:

  • In a small mixing bowl, pour the boiling water over the half cup of cereal. When cooled, mix in the vegetable oil and egg.
  • While the bran mixture cools, whisk together flour, sugar, baking soda, baking powder and salt in a large mixing bowl.

  • Stir in the raisins. In a large measuring cup, combine the buttermilk and brown sugar, and stir into the dry ingredients.
  • Stir in remaining cereal, then the softened bran mixture. Cover the batter and refrigerate it overnight.

  • Preheat the oven to 375°F for 15 minutes. Line a muffin tin with papers, and spray the insides of the papers.
  • Stir the batter once or twice, then scoop a heaping 1/4-cup of batter into each prepared muffin cup.

  • Bake for 20 to 25 minutes, until a tester inserted in the center comes out clean. Remove from the oven.
  • Cool in the pan on a rack for 10 minutes before removing the muffins from the pan. Glaze with apricot jam.

Healthy & Hearty Breakfast!

