I hardly ever use the microwave for baking; I’d rather trust my good old electric oven with my precious cake batter and baking pans with the high temperatures. But everyone needs a back up plan when options are limited. So when I had to bake a birthday cake in an ‘oven-less’ condition this week, the microwave came to my rescue. The resulting chocolate cake, a soft and spongy one, went down well with all those who shared it and I was immediately pressed to post the recipe online.

This emergency cake is a good idea to make if you are having chocolate withdrawal symptoms since it takes no more than 10 minutes in the microwave. Add a layer of dark chocolate ganache and chocolate curls if you are in severe withdrawal. The original recipe is from the back of Nestle Cocoa tin but I used Van Houten 100% pure unsweetened cocoa for this cake and I strongly recommend you to do so… and please, Lindt Swiss Bittersweet Chocolate for the ganache and the curls 😉

MICROWAVE CHOCOLATE CAKE

Ingredients:

3 large eggs, separated

1 cup all purpose flour

2 tsp baking powder

Pinch of salt

4 tbs vegetable oil

1 cup granulated sugar

4 tbs cocoa powder

1/2 cup boiling water

1 tsp vanilla extract

Method:

  • Whip egg whites in a clean mixing bowl until stiff. Keep in fridge until ready to fold into batter.

  • Sift flour, baking powder and salt together in a large mixing bowl. In a small bowl, combine cocoa and water.

  • Combine egg yolks, oil, sugar, vanilla and cocoa mixture together. Add to dry ingredients and mix well.

  • Carefully fold the egg whites into the cocoa mixture. Pour batter into 20cm microwave safe mould.

  • Microwave on medium high [700W/80%] for 10-12 minutes. Drizzle with chocolate ganache and top with curls.

Ready in 10 minutes!

