Dehydration, stress, lack of sleep and malnutrition all take their toll on the body and the immune system. It must have been a combination of all of them that made me susceptible to this nasty viral infection I have be harbouring lately. Sick at home [but baking banana muffins to go with my mug of hot Nesquick], I hope to recover and get back to my usual bubbly self shortly. Still coughing uncontrollably for the past few days, I have fortunately managed to do away with the runny nose but body ache and lethargy prevent me from being more active in the kitchen. For now, I take comfort in munching my way through these warm, golden muffins which, in my opinion, are more effective than any medication or therapy against my present ailment. Need to get well soon…

BANANA & CRANBERRY MUFFINS

Ingredients:

2 cups all purpose flour

1/2 cup quick cooking oats

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 cup caster sugar

2 tbs light muscovado sugar

1 cup mashed bananas

1/2 cup vegetable oil

1/2 cup plain yogurt

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/3 cup coconut flakes

1/2 cup dried cranberries

Method:

  • Preheat oven to 350 oF. Lightly grease and flour a 12-cup muffin pan or use liners.
  • Combine flour, sugar, oats, baking powder and baking soda in a large mixing bowl.

  • In another bowl, mix the mashed bananas with oil, yogurt and vanilla extract.
  • Make a well in the middle of the dry ingredients and add the banana mixture.

  • Fold in using a metal spoon until no flour streaks remain. Lastly fold in cranberries.
  • Spoon batter into prepared muffin pan. Bake for 20-25 minutes until golden brown.

  • Muffins are done when a wooden skewer inserted in the centre comes out clean.
  • Remove from oven and cool completely on a wire rack. Makes 12 regular muffins.
