Happy Birthday to Me!

This year my birthday was quite ‘grandiose’ with no less than 4 birthday cakes – a carrot cake from my staff in pediatrics, a vanilla genoise for all ABH April babies and the rest from my own kitchen. I baked my standard Bundt Pound Cake along with a small Tarte au Chocolat and dozens of Cowboy Cookies to bring to work. And my last cake cutting event was at 8pm with the family at home. Since I had no one to impress, I selected the Best Ever Sponge Cake from Australian Women’s Weekly and dressed it with loads of toasted coconut flakes [you might have noticed that I’m having something of a coconut addiction lately!] along with the refreshing flavour of key lime. To be honest, I think it was by far the best cake out of my 4 birthday treats!

KEY LIME COCONUT CAKE

Ingredients:

1 cup [150g] all purpose flour

1 tsp baking powder

1 tbs cornflour

4 eggs, room temperature

3/4 cup [165g] caster sugar

1/3 cup hot water

1 tsp unsalted butter

1 cup whipped cream

1 cup coconut flakes

Zest of 2 key limes

Method:

  • Preheat oven to 350°F with rack on lower shelf. Butter and line the base of two 9-inch round sandwich pans.

  • Beat eggs in a large mixing bowl with an electric mixer for about 10 minutes until thick and creamy.

  • Gradually add sugar, beating until dissolved between additions. Triple sift flour, baking powder and cornflour.

  • Fold flour, half of lime zest and coconut flakes into egg mixture with a metal spoon. Melt butter in hot water.

  • Pour the butter mixture down the side of the mixing bowl and fold into the mixture without deflating batter.

  • Divide mixture between prepared pans, smooth tops and bake for 25-30 minutes until golden coloured.

  • Immediately turn out  of pans and wrap each in a large towel or cloth. Leave to cool on a wire rack.

  • When cakes have cooled to room temperature, sandwich them with a generous amount of whipped cream.

  • Cover top and sides with more cream and sprinkle with extra coconut and lime zest. Makes 12 pieces.
