My days as the pediatric resident doctor came to a stop this week when I was suddenly rotated to the ER Department. Right when I had finally got used to everyone and everything in pediatrics, nursery and neonatal ICU, it was time for me to step out of my comfort zone and adapt to a new, unknown environment. Emergency is fast-paced and exciting where the opportunities to learn and explore are much more than that of a ward set-up. Red alerts, ambulance pick ups, marketing events, journal club articles are all gonna be part of my daily routine as from now onwards.

The long working hours will no doubt require a rich dose of calories to keep my blood sugar normal and my neurons functional. I have found a good source of carbs in oatmeal. But I never knew its full potential as a satisfying breakfast item until I made Barbara’s White Chocolate and Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies. They will go a long way in boosting your energy level, especially if you are unexpectedly called to help in OT for a whole day!

WHITE CHOCOLATE & CRANBERRY OATMEAL COOKIES

Ingredients:

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup white sugar

1/2 cup softened unsalted butter

1 egg, room temperature

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/4 tsp table salt

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 cup all purpose flour

1/4 cup wholewheat flour

1 1/4 cup quick oats

1 cup cranberries

1 cup white chocolate chips

Method:

  • Preheat oven to 350oF. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper. Beat butter and sugars until smooth.

  • Add egg and vanilla extract and beat until well combined. Sift together flours, salt, baking powder and baking soda.

  • Gradually add flour mixture and oats to wet ingredients. Mix with a wooden spoon until it forms a stiff cookie dough.

  • Fold in white chocolate chips and chopped cranberries. Drop onto prepared baking sheet with a tablespoon.

  • Bake cookies for 8-12 minutes until soft. Cool completely on baking pan before removing. Makes 2 dozen cookies.

Soft & Chewy Cookies

