There was this big bag of frozen berries stashed at the back of my freezer that I had totally forgotten until I chanced upon them on a fine winter morning. They were sitting there begging to be turned into something delicious and memorable. Muffins were the most comforting thing I could think of and to offset the tartness of the berries, I added a generous handful of chopped white chocolate to my muffin batter as per the recipe on Zoom Yummy. I baked them in my giant muffin pan and they turned out to be just as beautiful as I had imagined – light, healthy and colourful muffins, with bits of raspberries, blackberries, blueberries and cranberries, reminding me of sun-filled summer days with every bite.

MIXED BERRY & WHITE CHOCOLATE MUFFINS

Ingredients:

1 cup full cream milk

1/2 cup vegetable oil

1 tbs white vinegar

1 egg, room temperature

2 cups all purpose flour

3 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp table salt

3/4 cups granulated sugar

1 cup white chocolate, chopped

2 cups frozen mixed berries

Method:

  • Preheat oven to 350oC. Line a 6 cup giant muffin pan with paper cases or grease lightly with butter.

  • Sift flour, baking powder and salt in a large mixing bowl. Stir in sugar and chopped white chocolate.

  • In another bowl, beat milk, oil, vinegar and egg until well combined. Pour into dry ingredients.

  • Fold in with a metal spoon until just combined. Add berries and gently fold in until evenly distributed.

  • Carefully spoon batter into prepared pan and sprinkle with extra berries and white chocolate chunks.

  • Bake for 30 minutes until tops are golden brown. Cool in pan for 5 minutes before turning out. Makes 6.

A Touch of Summer

