If you are looking for something healthy to kick start your day, these deliciously creamy smoothies will surely help. Packed with vitamins and low in calories, smoothies are becoming increasingly popular among diet-watchers. The fruit-based emulsion is typically thickened with milk or yogurt and is best served chilled at breakfast. A genius method to get your kids to gulp down their nutrients and ask for more! The first recipe is the one featured on the ABH Cafeteria menu; it has been my power drink many a time when I had to skip breakfast in my hurry to get to work especially when doing day duty in ER.

To adapt it to my taste, I replaced the banana with unsweetened applesauce and used Kean’s Mango & Passion fruit juice which had enough tropical flavor for me. And to celebrate my reunion with my old love, Horlicks,[I found my precious jar at Bagatelle Pick & Pay] I added it to my second smoothie which was just as yummy as the first. I thinned the concoction with 1/2 cup skimmed milk, substituted the honey with pure maple syrup and crushed one large digestive biscuit into it before switching on the blender.

ENERGETIC SMOOTHIE

Ingredients:

Yoplait aux cereals

2 strawberries

1/2 medium banana

150ml tropical juice

3 ice cubes

Method:

  • Blend all ingredients together until well combined. Serve immediately in a tall glass.

HORLICKS SMOOTHIE

Ingredients:

1 banana, broken into 4 chunks

20g chocolate flavoured Horlicks

2 tbs runny honey

400 g natural yoghurt

4 ice cubes

Method:

  • Put all the ingredients into a blender and whiz for 30 seconds. Serve in tall glasses.
