Inspiration’s been eluding me lately… am I running away from myself? Questions abound in my mind as I wrestle with emotions and reason. Hope and skepticism, two faces of the same coin, they flip over time and again leaving me more confused and disoriented. The wait seems, to me, eternal as I sit with my fingers crossed and pray for my most ardent wish to be granted. Never before have I longed for something so hard and exercise so much patience to achieve. Meanwhile, a bite of pecan studded brownies along with a scoop of crème brûlée ice cream should soothe my frayed nerves and bring back my lost muse.

MAPLE ROASTED PECAN BROWNIES

Ingredients:

2/3 cup pecan nuts

1 tablespoon maple syrup

150g butter, chopped

200g dark chocolate, chopped

1 cup firmly packed brown sugar

3 eggs, lightly beaten

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 cup all purpose flour

1/4 cup cocoa powder

Method:

  • Preheat oven to 180°C/160°C fan-forced. Line a baking tray with baking paper. Place pecan nuts on prepared tray.

  • Drizzle the pecan nuts with maple syrup. Bake for 10 minutes, stirring halfway through cooking. Set aside to cool.

  • Line a 3cm-deep, 19cm x 29cm (base) slice pan with baking paper, extending baking paper 2cm above edge of pan.

  • Cook butter and chocolate in a saucepan over low heat until melted and combined. Set mixture aside for 10 minutes.

  • Stir in sugar, eggs and vanilla extract, then fold in flour and cocoa. Pour mixture into prepared pan. Top with pecans.

  • Bake for 25 minutes until just set. Cool on a wire rack before cutting into pieces. Serve with cream. Makes 20 pieces.

Pecans & Maple Syrup

