Waking up early to bake is something I’m doing less and less lately. Though I had planned to bake bread today, my mood spelt lazy and I could not quite bring myself to go through the kneading and proofing it required. After randomly browsing the net, I was instantly drawn to the lovely set of pictures on La Tartine Gourmande; my resolve to bake the very tempting apricot teacakes was doubly strengthened when I finally read the post title: Apricot Cakes when I Feel Lazy. Perfect!

It was my very first time baking with fresh apricots so I was a lil bit worried about the end result but then I really had to do something about the small mountain of ripe fruit I bought a day ago. I could not possibly eat all of them and the poor things do not keep for long. Off they went, right into my smooth and creamy teacake batter and I almost forgot about them till my kitchen got filled with this wonderful fruity aroma, almost like in a pâtisserie. Light and moist, these apricot cakes can easily be adapted to include peaches, plums, nectarines and raspberries. To be bookmarked for those stifling summer days when I get hit by the laziness bug yet have a craving for something sweet and homemade.

APRICOT TEACAKES

Ingredients:

1 cup flour

100 g butter

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/4 cup milk

1/2 cup fine sugar

2 large eggs, room temperature

Fresh apricots (about 4 or so, depending on the size)

Lemon juice and confectioner’s sugar

Method:

  • Preheat your oven at 350 F. Mix the soft butter and the sugar together until creamy.

  • Add one egg at a time and mix well. Sift the flour and baking powder separately.

  • Add them to your preparation and mix well. Then add the milk and vanilla extract.

  • Slice the apricots and squeeze some lemon juice of top. Take little paper cups and fill up to 2/3 up.

  • Add a few apricot slices on top, and press them slightly in. Place in the oven for about 20 to 25 mins.

  • Cool to room temperature. Sprinkle with confectioner’s sugar. Makes about 10 to 12 mini teacakes.

Smells Heavenly, Tastes Divine